Skip to content
March 1, 2012 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: City of Glass, Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Lately I have been reading a lot of young adult literature, taking advantage of my employee discount and library to get most of it.

Yesterday I finished City of Glass, the third installment of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series. In this book, Clary goes to Idris to find the cure for her mother, and of course while she and all the other Shadowhunters are there, Valentine attacks and threatens the Shadowhunters with either genocide or slavery. This volume had some very interesting twists, but I tended to figure it out about 200-300 pages before the characters did, which only made me want to shout at them. I also feel that Clare cheats with character deaths: obviously not wanting to kill one of her main characters, she kills a side character that they are close to, sending everyone into sadness. While I canunderstand the pain the characters feel… I didn’t feel it myself. This person just wasn’t built up enough, so that when he died I felt “Oh.” instead of “Oh no!!!” By killing this character, it gave Clare the opportunity to have the other characters be very distraught, without actually getting rid of someone her readers loved. So, cheating.

Now, the way this book ends, just about all of the loose ends are tied up, and it’s very conceivable that everyone could live happily ever after. She even untwisted the twist that snarled up the romance! Except, there are three more books to go. While there are some things that are hinted at that could cause problems later on, it’s not enough that I can see a story that carries on through three more books. Maybe there’s another twist that I’m not foreseeing, but right now I’m worried that the other books are going to feel very forced.

With impeccable timing, just as I was finishing City of Glass I was alerted by the library that one of my requests came in: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. In this book, Karou is a human girl raised by demons. She now exists in the human world, going to art school, and in what she’s allowed to see of their world – Brimstone’s shop, where he exchanges wishes for teeth. So far, I’m enjoying the way Taylor mixes the fantasy into the reality of the book. Even though it starts with Karou on her way to art school, Brimstone and the other demon characters come up naturally in her inner dialogue. We are gradually introduced to this part of the world, instead of being suddenly shocked with it. It makes the story weirder, and so much more appealing. I’m not too far into it yet but this is probably a book I’ll finish in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

