Skip to content
July 26, 2016 / Angela Sylvia

Things Books Made Me Want to Do

Books can inspire you to do a lot of things: learn a new topic, go somewhere, or eat something you’ve never heard of before. Or they can just make you wish that something existed so you could actually do it.

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, here are a few of the things books have made me want to do.

  • A Ring of Endless Light by Madleine L’Engle made me want to go to school for English. This is all because one person that the main character, Vicky, meets tells her that if she’s serious about her writing, she shouldn’t major in creative writing in college, but she should major in English so she can study stories. I may have been the only person I knew in middle school who knew what she was going to college for.

 

  • My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George made me want to live in the woods. If I could get my own peregrine falcon, even better.

  • Amelia’s Notebook series by Marissa Moss inspired me to fill my childhood journal with awesome doodles.

 

  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis gave my a lifelong desire to try Turkish Delight. (It didn’t work out so well.)

 

  • And, of course, Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling made me hope, hope, hope that I would be a witch. Still waiting on that owl…

Check out The Broke and the Bookish for more lists! What have books made you want to do? There are still so many other foods books made me want to try…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. _giovannard / Jul 26 2016 11:03 am

    I haven’t read the books, but the movie had me wanting some Turkish Delight too. I still haven’t tried, but by the sounds of it, I’ll be staying away! ;) Great TOP TEN!
    My Top Ten Tuesday!

    • Angela Sylvia / Jul 28 2016 9:14 am

      I have been told that the kind I tried is pretty terrible, and that it would be different if I got some handmade stuff. Maybe if I ever find myself in a British bake shop, I’ll give it *one more* go.

Leave a Reply

