Skip to content
May 10, 2016 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Watching: Wheezy Waiter (Daily Vlogs)

For a couple of years I’ve subscribed to Wheezy Waiter, the channel by Craig Benzine. When I first started watching, he’d post a few times a week, usually about a jokey topic (Explosion Wednesday!). I watched a lot of them, because I had YouTube open, because it was there. Some of them I liked, some I didn’t care about, some I didn’t watch at all.

A few months ago, the channel shifted. He moved the camera from his office back to his home. He started moving the camera around, then taking it with him. Without my noticing at first, Wheezy Waiter became a daily vlog, and I loved it.

He tapes himself making coffee, entering rooms, editing, going on a run. He comes up with ways to make what he does interesting, funny, meaningful. Or, he finds meaning in things he encounters as he carries his camera around all day.

This is a guy who runs a PBS show, who’s in a band and is a guest at conventions, but even without that the way he records his life is fascinating to me. Even on a boring day, there’s something fun you can do, or look at, or talk about. The everyday is laid out in such a way that I’m inspired — inspired to run, to go places and do things, to blog about what happened in my life. Inspired to focus on how ridiculous and cute my dog is (not that I needed much extra help with that).

I don’t key into every moment of every video, and I still feel a little weird admitting that one of my favorite channels is, in its basic form, a guy going about his day. But he’s somehow made peering into someone else’s life comfortable, and I appreciate all the thoughts that come out of watching these snaps of life.

Leave a Reply

