Skip to content
March 29, 2016 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Science Fiction and Lady Comic Books

I’m still working my slow, deliberate way through Ursula LeGuin’s The Dispossessed. I still think it’s a good novel, but it gets so dense, and there are such long parts of the novel without breaks, that I have a hard time reading it for long stretches. Plus, I keep falling asleep on the couch while I’m reading the book…

I also started reading Great North Road by Peter F. Hamilton. I bought the mass market at Barnes and Noble after reading the back and realizing it was a futuristic science fiction story, AND a detective murder mystery story. I really love it so far. Hamilton’s writing is accessible, and the super technological bits don’t make me go cross-eyed. I did almost roll my eyes right out of my head when he spent an entire paragraph describing how hot the main character’s wife is: “slimmer than anyone who’d had two children should reasonably expect”; “she was enticingly fit”; “the dark hair…still as lush”. Blarg. But I powered through it! And I still like the book.

wp-1459256839847.jpeg

Comic Book Run: Patsy Walker A.K.A. Hellcat and Zodiac Starforce

A trip to the comic store got me…some comics! I picked up the first four issues of Patsy Walker A.K.A. Hellcat by Kate Leth, because I love Kate Leth and I’ve heard good things about it. I’ve read the first issue so far, and it’s super, super cute. I do wish that super hero comics had looked like this when I was a kid.

On top of that I grabbed some issues of Zodiac Starforce, which is colored like Steven Universe and sounds like Sailor Moon. So, really, probably for me, I figured! I read issue #2 (they didn’t have #1 at the store), and it turns out yes, I was right, this comic is my kind of deal. I’ll have to find the missing issues next time I’m in a comic shop.

What are you all reading? Anything nerdy? Anything smart?

Also, I think I’m going to frequent my comic shop more often (it is right next to the grocery store, after all). Any suggestions of what I should get?

 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. passmethatbook / Apr 1 2016 12:12 am

    I tried to read Great North Road, but it just didn’t catch my interest. I love thick books, but sometimes I just *can’t* read them. Too many characters, not in the mood for the novel, or some other reason. I may try again, as you seemed to really enjoy it!

    • Angela Sylvia / Apr 1 2016 7:09 am

      I’m probably in a good point for reading it right now; I’ve been looking for fat science fiction I can get into, and I’ve also been on a detective story kick. There are a few too many characters, though; I’m beginning to lose track of some of the more fringe characters.

Trackbacks

  1. Comic Bookish People to Follow on Twitter | Diary of a Bookworm
  2. Comics: Nimona, Zodiac, and Hellcat | Diary of a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

