Skip to content
January 21, 2015 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Art Books, Biographies, and Other Things That are Taking Forever

As per usual, I have a few books that I’m pawing through at the moment, a couple of which are, for some reason, taking me a real long time.

First, A Dance With Dragons. Yeah, I know, I mentioned reading that months ago, but I keep setting it aside to read other books. I’m not sure exactly why it’s been taking me so long, but I think it’s a collection of reasons: Martin’s over description of things like food and individual people who don’t matter, the slow pace (I swear, there were two chapters in a row where all I really learned was that it was snowing) and maybe because, despite a few problems, I’m starting to like the TV show better than the books (sorry). In any case, I’m almost done. Hopefully I’ll finish by the end of the month.

Also on the list are a few nonfiction books. Adventure Time: The Art of Ooo is a Christmas gift from the hubby, and I love it. Lots of insider information, gorgeous art, production drawings, and stories of how the show came together. I’m reading this slowly, a piece at a time. It’s a treat.

Brilliant by Jane Brox is the story of the development of light over the history of man. This one is sort of a research book, as I’m trying to pick up ideas and gain inspiration for the WIP I keep talking about. Like anything history I have a hard time not finding bits of it a little dry, but it’s well written, and there are some truly beautiful lines in there (which I thought I marked off, but didn’t. Aaah.).

I’ve also still got the Walt Disney biography unfinished. I will get back to that.

Finally, I haven’t started this yet but I plan on cracking into it later this morning: Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. I’ve never read anything by her, but I’ve wanted to find a longer classic that I can actual get absorbed in for a little bit. The description sounds right up my alley, and I felt drawn in on the first couple of sentences, so home it came. Let’s see if I finish this one.

What are you reading?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. badzmaru / Jan 21 2015 2:08 pm

    I just finished rereading Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. Currently reading The Lives of Christopher Chant by Diana Wynne Jones.

    • Angela Sylvia / Jan 22 2015 6:53 am

      Oooh, Seraphina. Another one I’ve been meaning to read for a while. How was it?

  2. Lucy / Jan 24 2015 2:34 am

    I love Elizabeth Gaskell, not quite as much suffering as Bronte tome and not as fluffy as an Austen. North and South is one of my favourites of hers, she tackled the big social issues of the time and let people have a happy ending, yay!

    • Angela Sylvia / Jan 24 2015 7:31 am

      I like Wives and Daughters so far, I’m about a hundred pages in. I’ll have to read North and South next; I have a coworker who also really likes it (though she might just like the miniseries with Richard Armitage!) And it’s good to know that one has a happy ending, too. Sometimes you just need a book to give you a stinking happy ending.

      • Lucy / Jan 24 2015 8:00 am

        It really is a good adaptation, I put off watching it in case it disappointed me, but it was really good. Richard Armitage didn’t hurt, to honest ;)

Leave a Reply

