Skip to content
December 9, 2014 / Angela Sylvia

New-to-Me Authors in 2014

This post is part of Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and the Bookish. Thanks to my yearly challenge on Goodreads, it’s easy to look up what books I’ve read this year, and I’m a little surprised at how many new authors that I love I’ve encountered this year.

Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve become completely enamored of her Raven Boys series: great characters, spooky story, and some amazing lines that I secretly (not so secretly) want to steal for my own writing.

Brandon Sanderson. Thanks to Mistborn, I’m now back into reading thick mass market-bound fantasy novels.

Austin Kleon. This graphic artist/writer nabbed me with his advice book, Show Your Work, and later with Steal Like an Artist (I worked backwards). His books inspired me and got me jazzed up to write. Actually, maybe I should go back and read those books again…

Brian Vaughan. (And, by association, Fiona Staples.) Saga. I love Saga. It is one of the most original and consistently interesting graphic novels I’ve ever read, and I’ve already been suggesting it to people even though I only just figured it out myself a couple months ago.

Tanith Lee. I finally read Wolf Tower, and put Tanith Lee on the list of authors I really should have been reading in high school. Seriously, what was I reading in high school?

Have you found any new authors this year?

Leave a Reply

