Skip to content
February 24, 2014 / Angela Sylvia

Writers Writing About Writers?

I recently finished reading Amy Falls Down, a novel about a writer that I really enjoyed. Now, for obvious reasons, I enjoy reading books with a writer as the main character; whether or not the character is a representation of the author it’s fun for me to get an insight into other writer’s brains. But do other people even care?

In the story I’m working on the main character’s magic comes from her ability to parse words and craft stories, so this is coming from someone who does it herself. For people who like to read, but are not writers, is it actually interesting to read about a writer’s life? I’d like to think it could be, in the same way I’m interested in stories about detectives and athletes and factory workers. These are lives that are so different from my own, and I love to see how they are lived and how they can relate back to my own. But, there does seem to be an inordinate numbers of writers in fiction (I just finished Flora and Ulysses, and the mother is a writer). Am I just noticing it because I’m a writer, too? Is it excessive, or self-indulgent, for writers to place more of their kind within fiction? Do Readers (with a capital “r”) enjoy it — do people who only read occasionally enjoy it — or is it annoying?

I don’t know why I’m thinking about it so much, but I’m interested in what other people have to say about it.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. The Sisters Eternal / Feb 25 2014 1:27 pm

    I actually haven’t noticed this in the books that I read. I think it would be fine as long as the profession has something to do with the progression of the book and it wasn’t just thrown out there for nothing.

Leave a Reply

