Skip to content
February 12, 2014 / Angela Sylvia

Writing Updates: Reviews and Shorts

Let’s quit dwelling and whining for a moment and look at what’s going right.

Thanks to a new anime season, I’ve been getting a lot of episode reviews done lately. Even though I told myself I wouldn’t do it, I put my name down for two series, Wake Up, Girls! and Silver Spoon Season 2 (click the links for my most recent review). While Silver Spoon was a given since I reviewed the entire last season, Wake Up, Girls! caught my interest, and even though it’s not as good as the other show it’s been fun to analyze it each week.

Pink by Kyoko Okazaki

Pink by Kyoko Okazaki

I’ve also been getting some manga reviews done, though not as much. My most recent one is Pink by Kyoko Okazaki. This was an odd story, and I had a difficult time with the review. But, I think this might be the best one I’ve written recently, partly because I’ve been trying very hard to practice the art of Not Spoiling Anything when I write up reviews. I think I succeeded?

For writing-writing, I finished rehashing an old manuscript, and I’m letting it ferment for a little while before printing it out and doing some heavy edits (I’m also out of printer ink, so I gotta wait to get more of that, too). Meanwhile, I’ve been working on a few short stories, which range in doneness from fine tuning to a typo-ridden mess. One, a fantasy-ish story, I’ve sent out a couple times, and though it’s been rejected, I got a very encouraging personal rejection from a big fantasy magazine, which made me more happy than disappointed.

Also, my mad querying dash of the other day may have paid off. We’ll find out…

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Sisters Eternal / Feb 12 2014 11:34 am

    Ink is so expensive :( Also, the manga Pink looks interesting from the cover art. I may give it a read. Your reaction to the rejection letter is amazing. Usually I see people getting discouraged, but you were encouraged! Very inspiring.

    • Angela Sylvia / Feb 12 2014 11:54 am

      The art was one of my favorite parts of Pink. Read the back cover content before you dive in, just in case you get offended by certain things.

      That was a very encouraging rejection letter, where he said he enjoyed it but not quite enough, and that if he served as editor for an issue again I should send him something else. Basically, comments that made me feel like I was on the right track. I’ve gotten a couple of mean rejections letters, too, but those are still better than the impersonal ones (or non-responses) because I get a hint of where I can maybe improve.

      • The Sisters Eternal / Feb 12 2014 12:01 pm

        Yes, it’s always nice to get a genuine human response to know what you can do differently in the future and what you’re doing correctly at present.

  2. sqeries / Feb 13 2014 9:27 pm

    Hope u have good news on the querying!

    btw, am also loving Silver Spoon. I so wish i could draw/write like Arakawa-sensei!

    • Angela Sylvia / Feb 14 2014 7:40 am

      Thanks, Sakura! And yes, her characters and her plotting are so good. There’s so much to learn from how she crafts a story.

Leave a Reply

