Skip to content
February 4, 2014 / Angela Sylvia

Writing Problems: Productivity Relativity

Sometimes I worry that I am not a productive writer. It’s not just what I have published, which is not as much as I’d like it to be (mainly my fault). But even in general I worry that I don’t do this enough.

Writing in the afternoon is pulling teeth, so to accomplish anything I need to work in the morning. If I’m busy in the A.M., my writing hours are basically lost. I could get up earlier, but I set my alarm for 6:00 am, and that’s already like trying to extract myself from warm maple syrup. Then I make the mistake (don’t compare, don’t compare) of comparing myself (damn) to other writers. More prolific writers. Writers who publish multiple(!) books a year, or maybe run their own YouTube channels.

But then, on a morning when I’m running particularly slow, I set to write part of a short story. And I write, and I write. And I realize I filled 6 pages before my brain curled up in a cramp. And they’re 6 pages that I like.

So maybe I do write enough. Maybe I don’t give myself enough credit. Maybe it’s all relative.

Or maybe I need to do that more often.

Leave a Reply

