Skip to content
September 2, 2013 / Angela Sylvia

Weekend Trip Reading List

I’m writing this post ahead of time, but hopefully when this goes up I’ll be walking to the beach and enjoying the sun (or holed up in a movie theater because, crap, it’s raining). But as of this days-earlier moment, I’m packing up my bag, including the separate one I put aside for all the books I bring.

Whenever I’ve gone on a trip, meaning more than a couple of days, I feel the need to bring what even I admit to being an excessive amount of books. I once filled an entire backpack with books for a week-long trip to Maine, and while there I still bought more. This is only for about 5 days, but I’ve still got an empty duffle bag ready to be filled with books I will maybe want to read probably not. I’ve tried to rein myself in, but really, I’m a lost cause.

So far, here’s what’s going in the bag:

  • The Book Thief Assuming I don’t finish this wonderful, amazing, how-have-I-not-been-reading-this book by tomorrow.
  • Bone: Volume 1 Because a graphic novel needs to go in the mix.
  • The Bell Jar I like to drag along a classic, and I’ve never read this one before.
  • Great Expectations For some reason I am having issues reading the last 5% of this book.
  • Handling the Truth An interesting memoir craft book, even though I don’t know that I’ll ever write memoir.
  • Bobcat and Other Stories Because short stories.
  • Anansi Boys I’m on a Neil Gaiman kick.
  • Mental Floss Because magazines.
  • Manga I am way behind on my reviews.

Will I find more things to bring with me? Probably. Do I need them? Nope. All I can say is, thank goodness for traveling by car.

I don't know if I have enough, it is five whole days...

I don’t know if I have enough, it is five whole days…

Leave a Reply

