Skip to content
May 13, 2013 / Angela Sylvia

Book Thoughts: New Finds

  • Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen Audio BookI’ve recently started listening to audio books, mostly while I putz around the house. I was never sure if I’d enjoy doing this, but since I discovered that I concentrate better on cleaning and any other chore that doesn’t use a certain part of my brain, I figured I’d give listening to stories a shot. And it works — my house is often much cleaner than it used to be, since I want to keep listening but need to find something to do with my hands. It works for longer car rides, too. Right now I’ve just been listening to young adult (Sarah Dessen) and funny stuff (Tina Fey) so it’s not as crucial for my concentration to be quite as full.
  • Also, obviously, I’ve been reading (listening) a lot of Sarah Dessen. I never thought I’d like her, but her stories are sweet and tough some inner teenager part of myself. Then I discovered that a bunch of her books have overlapping characters, and now I’m kind of hooked.
  • My grandmother went to Prince Edward Island a few months ago and of course read all the Anne of Green Gables books. I mentioned that I read the first one and would get to the rest eventually. She logically interpreted this as I wanted to borrow each one from her at exactly the same time, so now I have them all in a sack, on the floor, because where the heck are 9 books going to go?
  • There is a great amount of relief in recommending a book to someone wholeheartedly and having them enjoy it as well. Takes away the potential embarrassment of you flailing around and thrusting a book in their face, half-shouting “It’s good! It’s so good!!” when they also have an emotional response. This happened recently with my frantic praise of The Fault in Our Stars. (Which, have you read that yet? You should. Go read it. Go!)
4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. writeforabsolution / May 13 2013 9:34 am

    I love Sarah Dessen! I have her entire collection, but I never really considered audio books! I tend to get annoyed because I know I could read faster than they speak; but it’s a great idea for cleaning, or for car trips!

    • Angela Sylvia / May 14 2013 9:50 am

      That’s the way I feel. I don’t listen to them a ton, so it can take me a few weeks to get through an 11 CD book, but it makes time go by faster for chores. =)

Trackbacks

  1. My Booksin 2013 | Diary of a Bookworm
  2. Weekend Links: Analogue Writing and Picking Up Books | Diary of a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

