Skip to content
October 22, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

Review Recap: Sad Monsters, Sketch Monster, Nura & Psyren

I’ve fallen behind on this again, so let’s take a look at my reviews from the last couple of weeks.

First on Suite 101 I wrote a review for Sad Monsters, a humor book by Frank Lesser (who happens to write for Colbert Report). Because I’m apparently on some list at Penguin this book was sent to me randomly, but I’m glad it was. Written in short chapters with styles ranging from diary entries to Craigslist ads, Sad Monsters sets to prove that monsters are just as sad and messed up as humans. With all the paranormal romance stuff going around, it’s pretty relevant, and funny.

Next is Sketch Monsters, a kid’s comic that originally previewed with Power Lunch. This one was really cute, and funny, but I think I enjoyed Power Lunch more.

On The Fandom Post I wrote a review for Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan volume 4. I wasn’t a fan of this Shonen Jump title at first, but I’m glad to say that it just keeps getting better and better. I can’t wait to review the next one.

I can’t say that for Psyren, which I reviewed for Suite 101 just the other day. Even though a lot of Shonen Jump manga tend to prove themselves after the first volume, this one was just so dull that I don’t care to see where it goes from here.

Leave a Reply

