Skip to content
October 13, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

Links: Making Kids Read, and Why Was I an English Major?

CNN.com also had a great article on how to get your kids to love reading. They even bring up graphic novels and manga as a way to get kids interested in the written word, which I think is fantastic since comics are usually scoffed and scorned. They also point out, “don’t tell them a book is too hard or too easy.” I’m very glad to see this written down – I feel like all too often I’m in the bookstore, and I hear a parent tell their kid to put a book back because it’s a “baby book” or they aren’t “old enough” yet. Bleh. The biggest downside to the article is there’s a prominent picture of James Patterson’s face, and I have to say it just freaks me out.

I also found a pretty interesting blog post written by a guy who suddenly realized he was an English major, and thus had no life skills. It was super hilarious, but maybe it’s just because I commiserate with the guy. His desire to do something let him to just write on the internet – which, aside from going to grad school, is basically what I’ve done with my degree. It’s funny if you like laughing at yourself for getting an ARTS degree, or if you like laughing AT those chumps following dreams and junk.

 

(Disclaimer: I am so happy I got an English degree, and even if I could go back I wouldn’t have done anything different. I am so much happier for it. It’s just, you know, I realize what I have.)

Leave a Reply

