Skip to content
August 23, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

A Return to Borders

Last weekend Pat and I stopped at a couple of Borders on our way to a friend’s house to take advantage of the closing sale. With most things at 40% off we got a decent pile, thought not as much as I would have grabbed had the sale been a little better. Here’s a look at what I got, not counting the stuff Pat picked out for himself and stuff bought for friends.

Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Art of the Animated Series by Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko. I’ve wanted this book for a while, and hucked it right into the basket as soon as I saw it. Aside from gorgeous art from the cartoon, there are production sketches, storyboards, and behind-the-scenes looks at how the creators came up with their ideas. I haven’t finished it yet, but it’s really fascinating.

The Penderwicks and The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall. I picked these up not only because they were some of the few middle grade novels left, but also because of a recommendation by Anita Silvey on Children’s Book-a-Day Almanac.

Genshiken: Return of the Otaku by Kio Shimoku. A light novel story from my favorite manga about geeks. Not super high on my list, but since Del Rey isn’t printing manga anymore I’m not taking the chance of never seeing it again.

An Elegy for Amelia Johnson by Andrew Rostan. A dying girl tells her two friends to deliver a message to her family. I had to buy at least one non-manga graphic novel, and this seemed really interesting.

Sand Chronicles Volume 10 by Hinako Ashihara. The last volume in this shojo manga. I’ve put it off only because the story technically ends in volume 8; the last two are just bonus chapters. Still, good to have it completed.

Chi’s Sweet Home Volume 6 by Konami Konata A new volume of Chi for almost half price? Yes, please!

The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett. This was the only Terry Pratchett novel. In two stores. Lucky for me it’s also the first one.

Walt Disney: The Triumph of the American Imagination by Neal Gabler. I bought a Walt Disney biography, first because I’m a giant nerd, but also because I don’t really know too much about the man behind some of my favorite movies of all time.

This Year You Write Your Novel by Walter Mosley. This is a writing guide suggested to me by my mentor. I hadn’t found it before now, so this was a good chance.

I wish I had made out a little better, but even in the second store, which had a much wider selection of manga, I couldn’t find enough that I was either continuing or willing to commit to starting. I hope I have the chance to get to another store the next time the price leaps down; hopefully that coincides with another trip to a friend.

Have you gone to the Borders sale? What did you get? And are you distracted enough by the low prices to avoid being depressed at losing a bookstore?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jennifer R. / Aug 23 2011 10:28 pm

    Found some great books and journals at Borders – blogged about them the last two days!

    • Angela Eastman / Aug 24 2011 12:55 pm

      I see you got some Jane Austen Fanfiction. I’ve been tempted by that…

      Did you know there’s a chose your own Jane Austen adventure book? Almost bought it once.

  2. Jennifer R. / Aug 25 2011 12:16 am

    NO!!! I did not know there was a Choose Your Own Adventure book!!! I loved those as a kid and how fun to read a Jane Austen one! I’ll have to find it : )

    I enjoy a lot of the fan fiction – most of it centers around Pride & Prejudice, but there is some based on her other works as well.

Leave a Reply

