Skip to content
August 10, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Electric Sheep, and Kevin Henkes

This week I finally finished my slow, plodding trip through Phillip K. Dick’s science fiction novel, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? I don’t know why it took me so long to read; for whatever reasons, I only really felt like delving into this book a chapter or two at a time while on lunch breaks. It’s a very interesting book, though the religion, Mercerism, confused me at first. I also had to dwell on the ending a bit, and still catch myself thinking about it, trying to figure out exactly what it means. A very interesting book, even if it left me feeling a little melancholy afterward.

I’ve also continued reading a pile of picture books. In particular, I find myself reading the mouse books by Kevin Henkes. This week I even took Sheila Rae, the Brave and Wemberly Worried out from the library. I’ve begun to notice that all of these books follow a similar pattern, where he spends almost half the book introducing the character before we get to the real big problem she’s going to face. In most cases that’s a no-no for a modern picture book, but Henkes comes up with such awesome characters that I think it works out really well in the end.

I’ve begun reading The Handmaid’s Tale (See all Literary Books) for my MFA, and also plan on starting the Book Girl light novel series. I also found a nice looking copy of Lirael at the used bookstore, and it is just staring at me…

What books are you delving into?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tom! / Aug 10 2011 2:24 pm

    I really enjoyed “Do Androids Dream.” I’ve become a fan of Philip K. Dick overall because of that book, but some are kind of a hit-or-miss situation. Have you also seen Bladerunner?

    • Angela Eastman / Aug 10 2011 3:28 pm

      This is the only Phillip K. Dick book I’ve read. And no, I haven’t. I want to now, but I’ve heard it’s really, really different.

Leave a Reply

