Skip to content
July 13, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

Writing Updates: July 13 2011

I haven’t written any writing updates in a while, and that’s why I originally started this blog!

Since getting back from Lesley, my work on my MG fantasy has consisted of edits and rearrangements. I’m trying to find the right place to start the story, while also getting the characters fully introduced and into the action as quickly as possible. It’s really hard. I think I’ve gotten the correct order of events for the first part of the story, but I may still need to figure out what parts to chop out to pick up the pace.

I’ve also been working on work for my IS. Aside from just reading picture books and craft books, I’ve tried my hand at writing a couple of manuscripts. The first one is completely self-indulgent and overly sentimental, so I don’t think I’ll be sending it to anyone anytime soon. Another one I wrote, while very rough, has a lot more potential, I think. I’m letting it sit for a few days, then I’m going to use some of the revision ideas I got from Writing Picture Books. I’ve also got another story started, which I want to tell in rhyme, but I only have three stanzas written. Rhyme comes difficultly to me, so I’m letting that story reveal itself to me bit by bit. Walking helps it.

I’ve also been working on my reviews since getting back. A review for a Campfire graphic novel, The Three Musketeers, went up on Suite 101 a few days ago. I’ve also gotten the start of my review for the manga A Bride’s Story written, but I’m having trouble finishing it off. That book may be too intelligent for me to write about, heh.

Before work today I want to get a good start on more edits for another chapter of my novel and maybe have another stanza or two for that rhyming book.

Leave a Reply

