Skip to content
June 2, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Dragons, Rabbits, Dragons

I’m making more headway through A Clash of Kings. It’s slower going than I thought it would be, but only because I keep getting distracted by shorter things I want to read. Again, rereading this before the new one comes out is proving to be an excellent idea. Things that I thought happened later are actually happening in this book, which means there are definitely some plot points that I’ve forgotten entirely. I’m excited to start in on A Storm of Swords soon – that’s when we start to see the story from Jaime’s point of view as well, and pretty much the biggest plot reveal I’ve seen so far happens towards the end of this book.

I’ve also read The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, as you can see from the post I wrote yesterday. I thought that this was the last Kate DiCamillo book I had left to read, but a look on Amazon shows me there are a few more that I didn’t even know existed. Time to add some more novels to my wish list…

I also started in on Dealing with Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede. This is the first in a teen fantasy series that is really just so funny. Princess Cimorene is bored with the usual things princesses must do, but isn’t allowed to do anything fun like fencing or magic or cooking. When she’s told she has to marry a prince, she runs away and volunteers to be a dragon’s princess – after all, being held captive by a dragon is perfectly acceptable for a princess, so her parents can’t possibly object. Wrede pokes some good-natured fun at fantasy/fairy tale tropes. For example, the prince she’s supposed to marry takes his time coming to “rescue” her because “it will look better” if he defeats the dragon after a good number of knights have already tried. And at the same time, it’s a really interesting plot. I may write a longer post on the book when I finish working through it again.

I’ve also read a few manga, one of which I absolutely abhorred: Ai Ore! I should have the review up within a week so you can see exactly why it made my skin crawl.

And now my usual question, what have you been reading?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brittany / Jun 2 2011 1:19 pm

    Ah I loved Dealing With Dragons …haven’t read it in ages though. Did you ever read the picture book The Paper Bag Princess by Munsch? I vaguely remember liking that too…I’ve seen it at the store recently. I’m still chugging my way through Battle Royale….

    • Angela Eastman / Jun 2 2011 1:30 pm

      I had not heard of that, but I just looked it up and it sounds really fantastic, and now I want to read it!

Leave a Reply

