Skip to content
April 26, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

Anime Boston – My Manga Haul

Anime Boston finished, and I had quite a bit of fun. I didn’t get to go to every panel I wanted, and I stopped in some I didn’t think I was going to see. I ended the convention with my normal feeling that, even though I did quite a bit, I didn’t really do enough.

But that’s not what this post is about. It’s about the manga I bought.

I’ve brought in some huge hauls from Anime Boston before, but considering how much I have to spend money on now (school, car, wedding, um, food) I didn’t get quite so much as that. But I think my buys were pretty good:

Pretty decent, I’d say. I could have caught up on series like Hoshin Engi and Rurouni Kenshin as well, but I couldn’t quite see how to fit it all into my budget. Aside from manga I only bought one anime, the Blu-ray of Summer Wars (got a free T-shirt with that one) and one figure, a tiny model of Going Merry from One Piece. (Yes, I bought a figurine of a ship.)

What do you think – did I do good? Was there anything you would have caught up on instead? Or, what else do you buy at conventions, if you go?

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Erica / Apr 27 2011 10:10 am

    Hey Bookworm :),
    I probably would have bought the same thing: mangas and figurines. But since I love anime as well, I would have to pick up more DVDs of the thousands I have not seen yet.(Of course money would be a bit stretched and I have school as well).

    Also, you mention about a wedding? In the summertime, my wedding invitation and program business should be kicking off by then, so let me know if you need anything!

    Ciao

    • Angela Eastman / May 4 2011 10:25 am

      I take so much less time to watch anime than I used to. Plus, now there’s so much I can watch on Netflix I don’t really need to buy too many DVDs.

      Oh, I’ll have to check that out! =)

      • Erica / May 4 2011 12:44 pm

        Thats the beauty of Netflix. Once I found out they have plenty of anime on there, I dove right in. My preference, however is books…:) Oh and thanks for considering checking out the link!

      • Erica / May 4 2011 12:55 pm

        Also, I just added Peach Girl to my wish List on Amazon.

        • Angela Eastman / May 4 2011 9:00 pm

          Ha ha, I’m trying to decide if I did you a favor or not… guess I’ll have to finish the thing and find out.

          • Erica / May 5 2011 9:56 am

            Oh goodness.let me know :)

  2. Justin / Apr 28 2011 1:51 am

    I would have been looking all over for Ode to Kirihito (because I don’t have Part II), probably look for a few volumes of Love Hina that I don’t have, and somehow find Volume 4 of Strawberry 100. That’s just me. And there are probably others I want but can’t remember. Oh well.

    Anyways, enjoy watching Summer Wars on BLU-RAY :( :( :( (only has the non blu-ray version)

    • Angela Eastman / May 4 2011 10:25 am

      I DID enjoy watching Summer Wars on Blu-ray. It’s so pretty! O_O

  3. Justin / May 4 2011 8:17 pm

    NOOO!!! AND NOW SHE BRAGS!!! THE AGONY!!! :D

  4. Justin / May 4 2011 9:28 pm

    *sniff* Should’ve known people from Massachusetts were meanies :( :( :(

  5. rubi-kun / May 11 2011 4:41 pm

    Did you end up going to my Tokyo Nonexistent Youth Bill panel? If so, what did you think?

    • Angela Eastman / May 11 2011 5:00 pm

      Unfortunately, I didn’t. I wound up eating lunch with friends at that time =(

Leave a Reply

