Skip to content
March 14, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Awesome Fantasy and Crappy Manga

Reading Like a Writer by Francine ProseI’m still working on the books I was reading last week, The Blue Sword and Reading Like a Writer. The story in The Blue Sword, written by Robin McKinley, has been picking up since the beginning. Even though it had some of the “girls can’t do what boys do” shtick at the start of the book, that’s been laid off, and at this point of the story it’s pretty non-existent. I appreciate that. My favorite novel by Robin McKinley is still Deerskin, which I seriously suggest to everyone – really tight, very intense fantasy.

I just finished Sumomomo, Momomo volume 7. Hoo boy, but is this series going downhill fast. The writer can’t seem to say often enough how women just aren’t as good as men. It is making me insane. I don’t think I’ll be poking through this manga again. I read it for a Mania review; that should be up sometime at the end of this week, or the beginning of next.

I picked up a few more books from the Borders sale, and I’ll talk about what I snagged in another post (hint: more manga!) And since I’m almost done with The Blue Sword, I’ll be figuring out what to read for my second craft essay.

So what’s on your reading list this week?

Leave a Reply

