Skip to content
March 7, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Swords and Thrones

Didn’t have the time to post this last week. I’m going to try to regularly put this up on Monday, seems like I’ll be a lot more consistent with that than Saturday.

I started going through Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose, another book that suggest for my MFA. This book specifically shows you how you can learn to write by reading other people’s work. Prose gives examples from other authors and helps us see how they might have constructed sentences and paragraphs, and figure out what choices they may have made with things like word choice. I’ve only gotten a few chapters in, but it’s very interesting.

I’ve also read the two volumes of Spice and Wolf I bought from the dying Borders near me. Again, I really enjoy this manga series. If I get the chance I want to take a look at the anime and light novels, too.

This is also for the MFA, but I’ve begun Robin McKinley’s YA fantasy, The Blue Sword. I’ve decided I want to look at this, and maybe the prequel story The Hero and the Crown to see what she does right or wrong when it comes to world building. So far, I think The Blue Sword pushes too much information on you right off the bat, and it makes chapter one a bit boring. It gets more interesting after that, though.

I haven’t started it yet, but I want to get to rereading A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, since he’s FINALLY releasing the fifth novel in his fantasy series, A Dance with Dragons, in July. I love those books, so I am very, very excited that I’ll get to see what happens next.

What have you been reading? And what’s on your to-read list?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dldzioba / Mar 7 2011 8:44 am

    Recently I just finished reading The Last Olympian. I’ve got Museum of Thieves in my purse, I’m going to be picking up A Feast For Crows after that, but I am also looking over Word Nerd, and The Weekend Novelist Rewrites the Novel.

    • Angela Eastman / Mar 7 2011 9:22 am

      I’d like to read the Percy Jackson series, too. I’ve never heard of Word Nerd before, but I’m instantly intrigued.

  2. dldzioba / Mar 7 2011 11:15 am

    Word Nerd is a book of facts about words. I love it. I’ve got note flags all in it and it’s getting a thick coating of hilighter.

    • Angela Eastman / Mar 7 2011 12:52 pm

      That is fantastic. Who writes it? I might have to get a copy.

  3. dldzioba / Mar 7 2011 1:07 pm

    http://www.amazon.com/Word-Nerd-Barbara-Ann-Kipfer/dp/1402208510/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1299521201&sr=8-1

    Here you go. My friends can’t resist picking it up and flipping through it every time I’ve got it with me.

  4. Brittany / Mar 13 2011 10:39 pm

    I went to the library this week! I picked up Children of the Sea by Daisuke Igarashi…. so far very interesting. Also picked up Zombies Vs Unicorns – a collection of short stories. And Matched by Allie Condie which is the book for my YA book club this month.

    • Angela Eastman / Mar 14 2011 7:52 am

      I’ve head of Children of the Sea, haven’t read it myself though. And do the Zombies actually fight unicorns?

Trackbacks

  1. What I’m Reading: Awsome Fantasy and Crappy Manga | Angela L. Eastman: Writer and Reader

Leave a Reply

