Skip to content
February 19, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I Read: Manga and Ravens

This week I dipped into a nonfiction book I picked up a little while ago: The Mind of the RavenThe Mind of the Raven: Investigations and Adventures with Wolf-Birds by Bernd Heinrich. I used to read books on animals a lot more, especially as a kid who thought she was going to be a veterinarian. I decided to go back to that part of myself, and I’m glad I did. It’s amazing how smart and even individualistic ravens are. It’s also surprising to hear how many live in New England – I don’t think I’ve ever seen one, but according to Heinrich they’re quite shy. I’m not even a hundred pages in to a book that reaches 300+, and due to my attention span I’ll be taking a while to finish this.

Those of you who read my previous posts know that I read, and subsequently fell apart because of, Barefoot Gen, the manga story of the Hiroshima bombing. It’s the most intense thing I’ve read in a long time, maybe ever, and it’s a damn cartoon story. But it was nice to know that I wasn’t alone in my devastation. There are a lot of postings on this manga listed at A Life in Panels, but the one One Piece Mangathat I empathized with the most was Alexander Hoffman, who stated I am a Coward. I have volume 2 of Barefoot Gen from the library, but I think I’m going to let that sit for a little while longer.

To cheer myself up I cracked into the One Piece omnibuses and made more progress, finally getting to the part with Sanji. I only have 2 more omnibuses to go before VIZ Media stopped making them for whatever reason, so I’ll have to decide if I’m waiting for more collections, or just suck it up and buy the individual books.

Leave a Reply

