Skip to content
February 14, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: Magician’s Elephant, Mockingjay

The Magician's Elephant by Kate DiCamilloThis week I finished reading The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo. She wrote two of my other favorite children’s books, Tiger Rising and The Tale of Despereaux. I wasn’t as big of a fan of this novel as I am of the other two books, but it was a really sweet story. And I loved Yoko Tanaka’s illustrations. I read this book specifically for a craft essay; I really admire the way DiCamillo crafts her sentences, and I decided from the beginning of the semester I wanted to study the way she writes. In particular I feel she writes Tiger Rising without a wasted word. I might go back to that book again for another craft essay, but for The Magician’s Elephant I’ll look at how she uses short sentences versus long ones to create emphasis.

I haven’t finished it yet, but I’ve also gotten quite a ways through Mockingjay. These books get me very stressed out. I can’t talk about it without spoiling it, and I’m too emotionally invested at this point to talk about it coherently. I’ll just say that Suzanne Collins is very good at building up tension. Very. Good.

It shouldn’t take me too much longer to finish Mockingjay. After that I’m going to jump into another manga, Dragon Girl, from Yen Press for a review.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Erica / Feb 17 2011 11:42 am

    Just became a subscriber to your blog! I have just became a fan of mangas and animes; also I am majoring in Communications and New Media while dabbling in Writing and Publishing, so it feels great to know others are still in the journey of reading and writing and have a passion for it. Thanks again!

    • Angela Eastman / Feb 17 2011 2:58 pm

      Thank you for that! It’s nice to know that someone’s reading this, and I’m not just talking into a void, ha ha. I hope I don’t disappoint =)

Leave a Reply

