Skip to content
February 6, 2011 / Angela Sylvia

What I Read – Fullmetal Alchemist, Bird by Bird, more manga

Fullmetal Alchemist 24 Hiromu ArakawaI’d gotten my hands on Fullmetal Alchemist volume 24 by Hiromu Arakawa last week, but didn’t get to it until this week. You can tell this manga is reaching the end of the story as everyone comes together in one spot.Everyone’s in a fight – Father vs. Hoenheim, Lin vs. King Bradley, Armstrong & co. vs. Sloth and everyone vs. the creepy human dolls. So much action goes on with the other characters that I didn’t notice Edward’s absence until he appeared 2/3 through the book! A long gap has gone between when I’ve read this volume and the last; I didn’t remember everything that happened before, so I was a bit confused – I need to go back and reread the series. And I might have time to do that, since VIZ doesn’t even have a release date for the next volume…

Anne Lamott Bird by BirdI’ve been reading more of Anne Lamott’s writing craft book, Bird by Bird. Lamott gives good advice on writing, but also on the life of a writer. One chapter looks at something I worry about in particular – jealousy over someone else’s success. Lamott is crazy in a way that I can relate to, and she has a wonderful, bitter sense of humor. I’ve read some out loud to Pat, and he doesn’t find as much amusement, so it may only be particularly hilarious if you’re also a writer.

I finished the first One Piece omnibus, and moved to the second. The quality of these books isn’t that great (the paper is thin) but they’re cheap, so I hope VIZ continues them. I also had the pleasure to read the second volume of Cross Game, and just today finished Nura: Rise of the Yokai Clan and a graphic novel of Eros and Psyche. I’ll have reviews up for the last three books, hopefully this week.

This week I plan on reading The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Any other suggestions?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brittany / Feb 6 2011 9:56 pm

    Mockingjay is great, but none of them live up to the first. Speaking of which, have you read Battle Royale? Let me know how Magician’s Elephant is — I liked Despereaux a lot.

    • Angela Eastman / Feb 6 2011 10:22 pm

      I haven’t, but, Pat owns all of it. It’s sitting on our shelf. He’s already made fun of me for reading Hunger Games but not Battle Royale ^^;

      Despereaux is great. My favorite of her books is Tiger Rising, though.

  2. Amanda Low / Feb 18 2011 11:50 am

    I Love Bird by Bird! I read it several years ago when I was young enough to feel naughty for reading a book with the “f” word in it, but you’re totally right, she is absolutely hilarious.

    • Angela Eastman / Feb 18 2011 11:53 am

      This was the first time I’d ever read it, but I think this is my favorite craft book now. I couldn’t stop laughing.

Trackbacks

  1. MMF: Personal Reflections on A Zoo in Winter « Diary of a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

