Skip to content
August 27, 2010 / Angela Sylvia

New Reviews: Gente, Maoh: Juvenile Remix, and A Journey to the Center of the Earth

Gente Volume 1

Gente by Natsume Ono

I managed to squeeze out three reviews for Suite101 over the past week (well, week and a half, I posted the first one last Wednesday): Gente volume 1 by Natsume Ono, Maoh: Juvenile Remix volume 2 by Megumi Osuga and Kotaro Osaka, and a graphic novel adaptation of Jules Verne’s A Journey to the Center of the Earth by Lewis Helfand and Vinod Kumar.

I didn’t like Gente as much as I liked the manga it’s connected to, Ristorante Paradiso. It didn’t have a continuous story running through it, which isn’t necessary, but in this case it became pretty boring. Maoh also had a problem with capturing my attention – the main character just isn’t doing anything, so hopefully that changes in the next volume (but seriously, 3 volumes to get a main character to make an impression on the plot?)

A Journey to the Center of the EarthI got A Journey to the Center of the Earth from Campfire, a graphic novel publisher that’s actually based in India! The comics have always been in English, but they’re publishing them stateside now through Random House. Someone from the company read one of my graphic novel reviews and contacted me personally. He tried to get Random House to send me some review copies, but something went wrong and it just wasn’t happening. But instead of forgetting about it, he sent me a couple of books himself! It was really great. I still have a copy of their Frankenstein graphic novel to review, and one of Campfire’s authors sent me an email asking if I would like some of his books, so maybe I’ll be getting those soon.

I also finished a review for a shojo manga, which will be posted on Mania.com! It should be up on September 1st, I think. I’m very excited about having my stuff posted on another site, so hopefully it continues to work out.

Leave a Reply

