Skip to content
January 18, 2012 / Angela Sylvia

What I’m Reading: A Hat Full of Sky

Considering how enamored I became of Terry Pratchett after reading Men at Arms and The Wee Free Men, it’s taken me a surprisingly long time to scoop up as many copies as I can and read until I can’t see straight. Maybe it’s because there are so many Disc World books that without suggestions I don’t know where to go next, maybe it’s because I thought The Color of Magic was only okay, or maybe it’s because the Pratchett books I did read were for school, and who the hell has time to read for fun when you’re in a graduate program. Whatever it is, I decided to shovel out some time and dig into those books again.

I decided to take it easy and get back into Pratchett with A Hat Full of Sky, the sequel to The Wee Free Men. We’re with Tiffany Aching again, and she’s on her way to the mountains to learn “haggling” from a real witch, Miss Level. The book is, of course, peppered with Pratchett’s wonderful, almost inexplicable humor. When Rob Anybody, a Nac Mac Feegle, refuses alcohol because he’s worried, his wife screams that he died: “He’s deid and still talkin’!” And one of my favorite bits in the book is funny in the way he words it, and the way he talks about something very, very true:

In the cupboard drawer under the sink, forks, spoons, and knives were all in neat sections, was was a bit worrying. Every kitchen drawer Tiffany had ever seen might have been meant to be neat but over the years had been crammed with things that didn’t quite fit, like big ladles and bent bottle openers, which meant they always stuck unless you knew the trick of opening them.

But aside from the humor, what makes this book so enjoyable is Tiffany. An 11-year-old girl who’s smart, brave, clever, and talented, and yet still worried about boys and upset when others are laughing at her. I want her to succeed, I want her to get credit, and yet I understand when she lets things pass her by. I’ll probably snag the next one, which I believe is Wintersmith, next time I get to the bookstore, and I’ll probably have just as hard of a time putting that one down.

Leave a Reply

Amy Cobb

Writer for Children and Adults

Dawne Webber

A place to confabulate.

publikworks

What's So Funny.

Textual Details

When someone with too many books gets access to the internet. Updates Thursdays.

Sarah J. Carlson, Author

Writing, Travel, and Expat Observations of Singapore

Something's Out There

Things, Stories, and Illustrations

Writing and Illustrating

Sharing Information About Writing and Illustrating for Children

Sorry Television

Reading a book a week

Write-a-while

Just another WordPress.com site

All About Manga

An exploration of manga and it's relations

The Blog of Jon, a Children's Book Writer

Just another WordPress.com weblog

MW

better comics through commentary

A Word or More

Writing of Rebecca T. Dickinson

Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Anime, Manga Reviews, Resources

Single/White/Geek

The Adventures of a 16-bit Twentysomething

I'm the Only Equestrian...

What happens when an equine-crazy girl lives in a non-horseman family.

See Momma Write

Mother, Writer, Rehabilitating Expat, Champion Potty Mouth, and MFA Grad.

Girls Gone Geek

Comics. Culture. Critical Thought.

